A study inspired by…

I fell in love with the wine bottle still life paintings of Erling Steen.  So clean, so balanced, so boiled down to the essence.  I decided to use one of his simple setups and see if I could copy it.  The answer is, haha, no way!  The magic evaded me–and I quickly found that I could not duplicate his lighting setup.  Looks like natural light to me, but how can it be so strong?  So I had to use a lamp, which changed things, and I moved awkwardly in between painting what I saw in the actual setup and painting how I saw it in his painting.  Still I have no doubt it was a good exercise.  In fact, I loved the balance of the setup so much that I did two separate underpaintings, so tomorrow I can take another whack at the color layer and see if I learned anything from the first time around.

Oh no!  I gave the above painting to my son’s significant other as a gift, and then worked up this one from the same set up.  I like it with the warm background so much better!  I asked her if I could have the painting back to change the background and she said yes.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in paintings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment