Favorite Hymns

The music director at church is teaching a class on our hymnal, singing in worship, and hymnody in general, and asked everyone to give her a list of his or her favorite hymns.  As I went through the hymnal to fulfill this request, I thought, a shorter list would be the list of hymns I don’t like (*cough* All Things Bright and Beautiful *cough*).

Anyways, for posterity, here’s the list I sent her (the numbers are hymnal numbers, not Billboard hit parade numbers!):

#7 Christ Whose Glory Fills the Skies
#207  Jesus Christ is Risen Today
#203 O Sons and Daughters
#186 Christ Jesus Lay in Death’s Strong Bands
#174 (salzburg) At the Lamb’s High Feast
#171 Go to Dark Gethsamane
#168 O Sacred Head Sore Wounded
#166 Sing My tongue the Glorious Battle
#151 From Deepest Woe
#135 (salzburg again…hmmm) Songs of Thankfulness
#127 Earth Has Many a Noble City
#124 What Star is this with beams so bright
#61 (wachet auf) Sleepers Awake
#63 O heavenly word
#65 Prepare the Way O Zion
#67 Comfort, comfort ye my people
#69 What is the crying at Jordan (I really, really like that one)
#60 Creator of the stars of night
#54 Savior of the nations come
#214 Hail the Day that Sees Him Rise
#687/688 A Mighty Fortress is Our God
#324 Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silent (who doesn’t love that?)
#328 Draw Nigh and Take the Body of the Lord
#329 Now my Tongue the Mystery Telling
#335 I am the Bread of Life (this was the communion hymn the first time we attended Grace when communion was offered.  It reassured me that despite what one hears about the Episcopal church, the doctrine had to be pretty solid somewhere–plus it’s lovely.)
#336 Come with us O blessed Jesus
#370 St. Patrick’s Breastplate
#372 Praise to the Living God
#460 Alleluia Sing to Jesus
#495 Hail Thou Once Despised Jesus
#390 Praise to the Lord the Almighty
#484 Praise the Lord through every nation (wachet auf again..)
#494  Crown Him with Many Crowns

This Sunday in church we are singing All Glory Laud and Honor (of course) for Palm Sunday, O Sacred Head Now Wounded, Ah Holy Jesus How Hast Thou Offended?, and My Song is Love Unknown.  Pretty great set of music.

The choir director from our university has been coming to church again lately and he forms a one-man choir outpost in the congregation.  If he comes, we do have hope of carrying the Palm Sunday processional hymn in tune and in key all the way from the court square to the church.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in churchy stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Favorite Hymns

  1. TG says:

    “Christ Whose Glory Fills the Skies” is my new favorite. . . it is a beautiful morning hymn.

Leave a Reply

