Going to Church Makes Me Happy

Sun streaming through our stained glass windows

I drive a half an hour to my church, and half the time I go alone.  I go early because of choir rehearsal.  Of choir rehearsal, perhaps the less said the better.  As I drive there, I have to remind myself that Jesus didn’t gather the well-bred, well-mannered and healthy around him.  A Christian community worth its salt will have misfits and people whose disabilities are uncomfortable to be around at times.  Such is our small choir.  And yet I wouldn’t give it up, I love it.

And then there are days like today when every lyric we sang spoke to me.  Being in the choir and rehearsing gives me extra time with the music and lyrics, and they are usually worthwhile.

Today we also had a very fine sermon from our guest celebrant, the same retired priest who was with us for several months during our rector search.  (Our church is hard on priests, seemingly.  No sooner had our new rector, Father Matt, taken up the reins than he has had to go in for back surgery.)

The prayers, the liturgy, all of it was speaking to me today.  I am so glad to be able to have this experience.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in churchy stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

