Limited Palette Painting

Jennifer had us limit our paint colors to black, white, cadmium red and yellow ochre….plus alizarin crimson for the red onions. The 4 colors are known as the Zorn palette. Some examples of Zorn’s own use of this palette are at this link.

I am happy with how my painting came out. From a student perspective, an advantage of a limited palette is that the solution to my color problems has to be found in one of four piles of paint–cutting down on the options means less confusion for this poor student! From an artistic perspective, the result of mixing all your colors from 4 sources means everything is going to be harmonious in the end.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Limited Palette Painting

  1. Jilly says:

    Followed the link from your GCM signature here. What a talented lady you are! Your painting is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

