Holy Week and Easter for families

My friend Kristen who is a good writer and reads an impossibly huge number of great books wrote up this lovely set of ideas for observing Holy Week at home en famille…I know I’m just a tad late in sharing it. Bookmark it for next year!
http://www.thisclassicallife.com/weblog/index.php/archives/1157

In my church it is still Easter. I love that the observance of the resurrection lasts several weeks! It’s a big deal and it means so much – there are plenty of angles to consider, and plenty of wonderful Easter music to sing; trying to squash it all into an hour and a half on a single Sunday morning would could never be very satisfactory.

3rd Anniversary

The second week of Easter also marks the end of our third complete year at Grace Church. My faith has deepened because I’m able to worship, pray, and learn in forms that makes sense to me and at the same time I’m not constantly having to sidestep flotsam and jetsam that drifted down the evangelical stream at me, nor continually talk myself down from the states of high dudgeon and annoyance that had unfortunately begun to characterize my state of mind. There are things I miss from evangelicalism – there truly are – but I can get those.

I’m tickled to serve in the choir — creaky voice and all. I had not found a suitable way to serve in my former church, other than to staff the nursery for a quarter now and then, which I did enjoy, but not in the same way I love the choir. Since I LOVE the liturgy, serving in the choir gives me front row seat on it, literally and figuratively–and best of all I get to help it to happen. We are losing our hired gun soprano this month….which is going to make the choir a little scary for awhile until we can replace her. But it also reminds me that to sing in the choir is mainly to help the congregation to sing, and you don’t have to be great to do that, you just have to try to be helpful and to know the hymns a little better than they do.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in churchy stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holy Week and Easter for families

  1. Heather says:

    Greetings from a fellow Episcopalian :) so happy to have stumbled upon your blog. Its nice to hear such lovely things about our faith and church. Easter for us was also a special time, very meaningful to be sure! Nice to meet you :)

Leave a Reply

