Hot Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!  I have so much to be thankful for.

More mundane details:

It is is 70 degrees outside, here in Kentucky.  Crazy, crazy weather!

ETA:   Later it rained like crazy, then temperatures dropped, and in the evening it snowed huge wet snowflakes for awhile.  We had a fire in the fireplace.

The bird, all 24 pounds of her, goes in the oven in about an hour.  My menu is very traditional and unimaginative.  I don’t innovate on Thanksgiving.  It is THIS group of flavors I want for the holiday meal, not a fancied up variation on it.

Turkey
stuffing – just the basic recipe on the Pepperidge Farm bag.  I do add some sausage to it.
Mashed potatoes
Yams (and yes, we do them with the marshmallows–a la Grandma Linda)
Sauteed green beans (everyone loved em so I’ve linked the recipe)
Rolls (with butter and rosemary drizzled on top a la Pioneer Woman)
Cranberry Sauce (the bag recipe, except with water replaced by orange juice)
Pumpkin Pie
and thanks to Middle Son, the Gramercy Tavern ginger cake.

A hymn from last Sunday:

Now thank we all our God,
with heart and hands and voices,
who wondrous things hath done,
in whom his world rejoices;
who from our mother’s arms
hath blessed us on our way
with countless gifts of love,
and still is ours today.

O may this bounteous God
through all our life be near us,
with ever-joyful hearts
and blessèd peace to cheer us;
and keep us in his grace,
and guide us when perplexed,
and free us from all ills
in this world and the next.

All praise and thanks to God
the Father now be given,
the Son, and Holy Ghost,
supreme in highest heaven,
the one eternal God,
whom earth and heaven adore;
for thus it was, is now,
and shall be evermore.

Text author: Martin Rinkart (1586-1649)
Tune: Nun Danket

According to an article here,  Martin Rinkart was the son of a coppersmith, and was a boy chorister in the St. Thomas Church of Leipzig, Germany, where J.S. Bach was later musical director. He studied at the University of Leipzig and later became a pastor in his native town of Eilenberg.
I get a kick out of singing hymns that were written almost 400 years ago – to share the thoughts and feelings of someone in such a different time and place.
About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hot Thanksgiving

  1. darlene says:

    Guess what Kathy? We both have Desert Rose dishes! I inherited them from my mother. They were a wedding gift to her and my dad in 1944. I always bring them out for holidays and I love them so much!

  2. katiekind says:

    How cool, Darlene!

    My dad’s mother had the Desert Rose china and I remember holiday meals served on them. When I was a little girl I thought it was so pretty. She passed her china down, but it was sold in hard times. So when I wanted some china, I nostalgically decided to get Desert Rose. I started collecting a plate or two here and there until I had a set.

Leave a Reply

