Happy Sunday

This weekend I had a great time knitting while listening to a podcast I bumped into called Craftlit.  I listened to the entire book of Turn of the Screw through her podcast, and have now started on Tale of Two Cities.  I confess I fast forward through some of the podcaster’s chit chat to get to the book.  She does a great job of setting up the readings, and offers her “I used to be a high school English teacher” perspective on literary devices being employed by the author.  As a result I got a lot more out of Turn of the Screw than I would have, and am getting more out of Tale of Two Cities than when I read it (to our kids) some years ago.  I think that is all kinds of cool.  And knitting makes a perfect and relaxing accompaniment.

We went to church, which was lovely.  Choir had been suspended for the month of July, including today, so we got to sit in the pew and take in the service like normal people.  It was really nice.  The liturgy helps carry us through as we are now between vicars.

After church I made the wonderful “Pioneer Woman’s Favorite Sandwich” which is insanely good.   It’s a grilled cheese sandwich made with rye bread, cheddar and provolone cheese, whole green chilies, red onion slices, tomato slices, and mayonnaise/dijon mustard spread on the bread before laying in the ingredients.   Grill up with plenty of butter.  Oh my.

Then I got to listen to Punch Brothers playing at the Newport Folk Festival, thanks to NPR Music.  Here’s the link:

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=128721757

And here they were interviewed for Saturday’s Weekend Edition:

http://public.npr.org/anon.npr-mp3/npr/wesat/2010/07/20100731_wesat_18.mp3?dl=1

Youngest has a line on a job, which is cool–hope it works out!

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Books, churchy stuff, cooking, Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Sunday

  1. leah says:

    What a nice day!

Leave a Reply

