Maundy Thursday and Good Friday

Maundy Thursday’s service was deeply moving to me.   Father Kevin rightly says that Holy Week equates to what other traditions find in their “revival” services.

On Good Friday, the service was not long; held in the gloom of the church at twilight, and the choir wore just the black cassocks, no white surplices. We sang O Sacred Head Now Wounded, and this beautiful plainsong hymn, Sing My Tongue the Glorious Battle, which is traditional for Good Friday:

Sing, my tongue, the glorious battle,
       Of the mighty conflict sing;
     Tell the triumph of the victim,
       To his cross thy tribute bring.
     Jesus Christ, the world's redeemer,
       From the cross now reigns as King.

I hope your observance (if any) of the events of Holy Week and Easter has been and will be meaningful to you.

Tonight is the Great Vigil of Easter!

I have my leg of lamb in a marinade in the fridge and will be making a lemon meringue pie this afternoon.  And cleaning house, making ready for an Easter feast with our sons, and one son’s girlfriend!  I hope the weather will be as pretty as today!

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maundy Thursday and Good Friday

  1. Kristin says:

    I love Maundy Thursday services. This year, the hubby had our kids participate in the foot washing portion. Then they helped strip the table and all decor from the church. So moving. Especially walking in on Good Friday to a totally bare church.

    Our leg of lamb is also marinating, and we’ve got a meringue shell dessert being prepped right now :)

  2. Kristin says:

    Oh! Almost forgot – Happy Easter to you and your family too <3

Leave a Reply

