Spring Break

Husband had a wonderful spring break–he spent three days sitting at the feet of one of the premier pipe makers in the country, learning new techniques and skills which he’s very anxious to put into practice. Every day I got an email from him saying, “I can’t believe how much I’m learning!!” So that is very exciting!

I bought a new laptop with the proceeds from my most recent web design job (that plus the newest version of Fireworks.) I spent the ensuing days transferring files and programs and making friends with the new laptop. I like it a lot. Windows 7 came loaded on it and is really nice.

Youngest son also had a good spring break. He is in a band now–playing drums–and they practiced a lot during the course of the week.

I got a little bit of yard work done – planted a rose bush, hauled some brush to the curb, did some weeding, put aluminum sulfate on the hydrangeas, hollies, and azaleas, and a rose food/insecticide mix on all the roses. I used about a half dose from what the bag called for, though, so I don’t know how effective it will be….and I’ll need to give the roses a bunch more food. I think I will skip the alfalfa tea process this year, and just give them a good dose of Rosetone if I can find it.

Today I painted a little picture, tried my hand at painting daffodils. Flowers are tough!!!

The background turned out well though.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring Break

  1. Leah says:

    Kathy, you should post pictures of your paintings!

  2. katiekind says:

    Hmmmmm!!!!!!! Interesting idea! You first!

    This one is a little uncomfortably like something you’d find cast off at Peddlar’s Mall. But I have to remind myself….there’s a reason for that…I am a beginner!

    Maybe I will one of these days. :-) This one I’m thinking of giving to my Mom…it has the pitcher in it that she gave to me. I have this idea of painting the pitcher every now and then and sending her the result so she can see my progress. (Assuming there is some!)

  3. Leah says:

    That’s a great idea! I need to start painting again, I’ve been incredibly negligent since missing class recently.

Leave a Reply

