This and That

We had a nice amount of snow Friday night to Saturday morning.  I love the way the light bounces off the snow and into the house — that’s the amount of light I would like to have all the time!   Poor D19’s car slid off the road and into a ditch as he was driving home at around 6:30 AM after his all-night shift at BP.  He was most of the way home.  A kind stranger picked him up and brought him home, and Scott got up and called the tow truck.  The car appears to be ok.

We had a lovely time visiting friends Thursday night: a young couple we have known through our old church since they were seniors in high school.  Now they have three young children – three young extremely BRIGHT and vivacious children.

The children entertained us both on purpose and also inadvertantly and I don’t think I’ve laughed so hard in a long time between the kids’ antics and my friend’s comedic gift for story-telling.  The little girl loved to put on shows and passed out tickets to the show.  Then we presented the tickets to her brother and he ushered us to the couch.  The little girl had prepared not only her own part in the show but also distributed ‘disguises’ that each person in the audience had to wear.  Scott’s disguise was a pink polka dotted sun hat, mine was a silver sequinned hairband, and her daddy’s disguise was a denim bucket hat.  Brother dimmed the lights, put on the music, and then sister did her little dance performance.   It was utterly charming.  Brother also had a show, a very dramatic Nascar race (complete with slow-motion instant replays) that he staged with Matchbox cars on a special mat with a speedway printed on it.

The week before we had had another lovely dinner with friends, in this case older friends who’ve watched OUR kids grow up, known to us through our old church.   That was a sweet time also.  These things remind me that I want to be better about getting together with people.

I had a busy week last week with web design work, giving a site a makeover.  Mostly it was really fun.  I contracted some kind of malware virus at the beginning of the project that created some setbacks at first.  I think/hope that I got rid of it but it seems that in the process I deleted my Photoshop registry key — or the virus damaged the file — so it seems I’m going to have to get another copy of Photoshop.

Tomorrow I’m making dinner for friends who just got back from China with their newly adopted, long-awaited  little son.

I am loving my church choir experience.  It has been so good for me. I do want to tackle the issue of my voice….I am not by any means a strong singer and I would like to improve.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

