‘Metochoi’ is gone.

I met ‘Metochoi’ on a message board about the controversial Ezzo parenting curriculum. He was a pastor of a little church in Nowhere, Texas whose church had been torn up by adherents to the curriculum.   He was mad.  A history of countering legalistic Christian fads, a mind primed with logic and a personality unafraid to laugh at bullies equipped him to do battle.  Mostly he joined the battle because, as he used to sign his posts, “I love moms and babies”.  At heart, Mike was a pastor AND a dad.  He loved his wife and he understood the connection she experienced with her babies was a sacred and God-given thing – not a challenge to him and their relationship as Ezzo teaches.

Due to ill health, he labored mostly in obscurity.  But as the internet age dawned, people who could not attend his little Baptist church or attend the logic classes he taught at the local college began to be touched by Mike’s teaching abilities as he took part in internet conversations.

Here is my friend Rebecca’s tribute.

Mike touched our lives in a similar way, and I will always be grateful.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Ezzo/Babywise, Family & Friends, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to ‘Metochoi’ is gone.

  1. Mel says:

    I wish I’d found his rants on parenting… because his notes on Gothard, and on the Law (as Rebecca chronicles), are well worth having found.
    It’s hard to believe he’s gone so quickly. But he’s Home!

  2. TulipGirl says:

    *tears*

    He impacted me so much. . . wit and wisdom. . . I’m thankful that God brought him into my life when I needed someone to hold my hand and point out just because something sounded “Christian” didn’t mean it really was true to the Bible and the Gospel.

  3. Brian says:

    I can hardly believe I “met” Mike almost 10 years ago on the Gothard discussion list and then later on the Ezzo boards. He was a great guy and someone who led me to a greater understanding of God’s grace and the freedom we have in Christ. I loved his compassion for moms and kids, his passion for understanding the Scripture in the correct context, his corny puns and jokes, etc.

    He touched a lot of lives and will definitely be missed.

  4. Nathan says:

    For those of us who are just learning about Metochoi’s ministry postmortem, where we can read his writings or find out more?

    Thank you.

  5. cornflower says:

    Thanks for posting this…

    He impacted my life. His words and lessons in logic via the internet. I’m happy for him that his is with the Lord, but sad that we no longer have him here.

  6. Pingback: Childbirth Education | Doula Support | Allentown | Lehigh Valley | Baby Birthing | Knitted in the Womb » Remembering Metochoi

  7. Pixie says:

    I will miss him immeasurably. He never stopped loving his flock.

  8. Shelley Clonts says:

    I had no idea that my uncle Mike had such an evidently huge presence and influence worldwide through the internet. I’m learning this just now as I’ve read through the obituary comments of our local newpapers website. I would love to know what websites and forums he was a part of. I just googled “metochoi” and this was the first link in the list. Mike was such a unique person and I respected him greatly.

  9. katiekind says:

    Shelley, your uncle was a wonderful man and I’m sorry for your loss. I never had the honor of meeting him in person, though I have friends who did. The message board where I met him was the “Ezzo Debate” board hosted by ivillage. He touched a lot of lives there and helped a lot of people, even though you’d imagine that a debate format, especially on a controversial parenting topic, might not lend itself to that.

    Unfortunately the iVillage people changed message board software and I still attribute the demise of the message board to that–the new software was clunky, slow-loading, and seemed to discourage conversation. Consequently the board slowed down and iVillage tagged it for closing. Fortunately it is partially archived and if you google on metochoi and Ezzo Debate, you should be able to come up with some of your uncles writings! I believe he was also interested in and involved in internet discussions on Bill Gothard’s material, so you might also google on that.

    Thanks for writing.

  10. Mel says:

    Shelley,

    Your uncle was one of the main moderators of the Gothard discussion list on Yahoo… http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Gothard_discussion/ It’s been a bit quiet since his Homegoing. :-( He was a great man of God–though I’m sure you know that already!

  11. Pingback: TulipGirl » Blog Archive » Ezzo Week 2010: Remembering Metachoi

  12. Debra Baker says:

    Completely grieved but I also know that Mike is enjoying himself in heaven where he turned in his klunker for a rocking glorified body (whatever that is I’m sure it’s far better than our temporary ones on earth.)

    Metochoi was the best defender of the truth.

  13. Anonymous says:

    Mike’s sister here, just found these tributes to my beloved brother. Thank you all so much for your precious comments. He was a dear soul who loved moms and babies, and family. We still miss him, and not a day goes by that I don’t remember some sweet word, or corny joke or “I Love You” from him. He is missed~ But he is always in us~……….Because of Mike’s death, I have met the man I am to marry in October, he too was a dear friend of Mike’s and contacted me after his death, we are planning to marry in Oct 2011…..Love to you all

  14. katiekind says:

    Dear Mike’s sister,
    Thanks for sharing, and I am so happy for your joy. Mike was the king of corny jokes and puns, wasn’t he! Thank you for dropping by and sharing. Blessings to you. I still miss Mike deeply.

Leave a Reply

