Advent 3 – Hymns

The choir is really building up! We have had three new members volunteer since Scott and I joined – driven by desperation to drown us out most likely! If we are all present there are now 8 voices in the choir, including our hired gun, Katy. The church organist, Elaine, turns out to have serious choir-directing chops and excellent taste, so it’s kind of exciting! Between the building enthusiasm and the beautiful music, I came out of church just sailing today! I have found my place!

A few years ago I wondered about advent hymns. I wanted to observe Advent, and it seemed to me there surely must be Advent music. Of course I knew the one everyone knows — O Come O Come Emmanuel. But surely a church season with four Sundays has more than one hymn, I thought. Still, looking in hymnals at the advent music, nothing jumped out at me. I just needed a little guidance and a little help getting familiar.

Each week the music has been so beautiful and lyrically so appropriate for Advent. This week we sang such beautiful ones. It was our second week with this hymn which we sang during communion:

Comfort, Comfort Ye My People

The 16th century melody has a wonderful, free and rolling rhythm that goes really well with the words – and is really catchy. Can’t get it out of my head! Our other communion hymn was gorgeous (#69 in the 1982 Hymnal), but you can’t find it on the net because it’s still under copyright. The tune was very minor and madrigal-like. Entrance and exit hymns have also been advent-oriented and very enjoyable.

Go forth and find some advent music! It will help you crack open this season and set Christmas in context.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Advent 3 – Hymns

  1. kristen says:

    Comfort, Comfort is one we are working on at home this Advent (along with O Come, O Come Emmanuel and Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus.) It’s been one of my favorites for several years, I love its message of assurance and peppier tune :)

  2. katiekind says:

    Yay, kristen! What a great hymn to plant deep in your daughters’ memory banks!

  3. Kristin says:

    Come Thou Long Expected Jesus, On Jordan’s Bank, the Baptist’s Cry, Hark the Glad Sound, Hark a Herald Voice is Sounding, The Advent of our King, and the ever powerful Lo He Comes with Clouds Descending. We’ve sung all of these this Advent, and I’ve even played most of them. DH and I have been making jokes about having a service of “Hark” hymns.

  4. katiekind says:

    :-) Yeah! Turns out there’s lots of really good Advent hymns!

Leave a Reply

