Bridge Night – Creamy Sausage Stew

We have begun to have a semi-regular get together to play bridge with our middle son and his sweetheart.  Bridge is pretty fun, actually, though we are all stumbling beginners at it.

Last night I made a meal to go along with it:  a delicious creamy stew I used to make when the boys were younger.  I stopped making it because it was so high calorie and so delicious that it didn’t seem like a good idea for someone who was always trying to lose weight.  But of course for guests or once-in-a-blue-moon it could be all right, especially if one exercises self-control about portion size.  Right?

It’s also extremely easy:

Creamy Sausage Stew:

8-10 medium red potatoes cut in 1 1/2 inch chunks
2 white onions, quarterd
1 large green pepper & 1 large red pepper, cut in 1 inch pieces
2 pounds of polish sausage, cut in 1/2 – 1 inch chunks.
(I used 1.5 pounds, and I think you could reduce the amount even more.)
1/3 cup cooking oil
1 T dried basil
2 t salt
1 t ground fresh pepper
1 pt heavy cream
3 T cornstarch
3 T water

  • Put the potatoes, onions, peppers and sausage in a 5-qt roasting pan.  My cast iron dutch oven was just right for this.
  • Toss gently to mix.
  • Combine oil, basil, salt and pepper, pour over meat and vegetables and toss well to coat.
  • Cover and bake at 350 for 45 minutes, then stir.
  • Add the cream, cover and bake 30-40 minutes more, until potatoes are done.
  • Remove from oven and put on stovetop.
  • Combine cornstarch and water.
  • On stovetop, heat the stew just to a gentle blurping boil (not a high boil), stirring and adding the cornstarch and water a little at a time, until the creamy sauce is as thick as you want it.

I served it with cornbread and green salad.  What makes this nice for company is that you can do the first group of bullet points earlier in the day, and then right before serving you can do the last part.

Hmm…I wonder how it would be if you made it with half-and-half instead of heavy cream.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in cooking, Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bridge Night – Creamy Sausage Stew

  1. Lori says:

    wow. that looks delicious! I am printing it out right now… lol

    by the way, my guess is that half & half would be a fine substitute for the heavy cream. The cornstarch thickener in the end is what gives the sauce substance, not the cream itself (which is more for “body” and flavor).

    You could probably even use whole milk, or a mix of whole milk & half and half… but I wouldn’t go any “skinnier” than whole milk.

Leave a Reply

