Re-Choired

Last year our little church hired itself a 3-person choir of university vocal students – they sounded great!   The plan was to start with a nucleus of hired singers and gradually add and then transition to congregant voices.   This year we are down to one wonderful soprano from the university together with 3 or 4 older gentlemen from the congregation.  In all this time, no women have joined.   So the choir is pretty low key (heh) and its primary role is just to undergird the congregational singing.

Now that the worship service has been moved back to 10:30 AM, Scott and I were asked to consider joining the choir.  We considered for about 5 minutes and decided to jump in.  For me it’s all about the black and white Anglican choir vestments.

This is not my church!

And the procession.   Just kidding (mostly).  I love to sing, but I struggle with a quiet voice and vocal cord problems from years of silent reflux that went unaddressed.  I’m starting to get a handle on that now, though.   Singing hymns is one of my favorite parts of the church service and I hope that I will have something to offer – and maybe my presence will encourage other women to join, knowing they won’t be the only one.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in churchy stuff, Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Re-Choired

  1. Kristin says:

    How exciting!

    I <3 the "traditional" choir vestments too. Back in my junior choir days, we had white and red for the children, white and black for the adults. It was a big day when you were moved into black ;)

    I so loved my choir time back in the day. I hope that our next congregation would have a choir so my children and I could participate. For now, I'm a one woman show with a guitar.

  2. darlene says:

    Go Kathy!!!!

  3. kara says:

    I wish I could hear your choir!

    • Kathy says:

      Well, I wish you could too, just because that would mean you were here! Keep in mind we’re (currently) just six. There are three solid singers in that group, an elderly gentleman with a lovely bass voice, an odd (autistic?) middle aged man with a very nice tenor/baritone voice, and our hired gun soprano.

      It was really fun this week! The vestments, the procession, the singing – yeah!!! And another woman came up after church and asked to join! Mission accomplished. :-)

      Something I had failed to take into account is that I would not be sitting by Scott in church….that’s sad. Maybe at some point we can get rearranged and sit by each other again.

      The biggest surprise of the morning was how satisfying it was to be more deeply immersed in the music–I got so much out of that.

  4. susan t says:

    In the Betsy-Tacy books by Maud Hart Lovelace, in one of the “high school” books, Betsy and her sister Julia decide to join the Episcopal church because they are drawn by the liturgy & hymns and the choir vestments & procession. The books are based on the author’s life growing up in Mankato, MN in the early 1900’s.

    PS I found you via “That Mom”… loved your quote about God not sending us a parenting method, but sending us Jesus.

Leave a Reply

