September flowers

The moral of the story is:  feed and water your roses.  This summer I stepped up the feeding and watering and the roses have repaid me by blooming more!  Who’da thunk it.

sept09_heritage

Heritage wins the Most Beautiful Delicate Shell Pink Color Bloom Award.

sept09_molineuxbouquet2

This is Molineux (yellow) and Abraham Darby.  Behind them is an unknown purple annual my Mom bought for me from Rolling Hills when she was here in May! It’s been a joy all summer, Mom!

sept09_granada

Ah…Granada!  I absolutely love this rose.

sept09_granadaopen

Another reason I love Granada…it is lovely at all stages.  Happy, luminous circus colors and fragrant to boot.  This is a great hybrid tea rose.

sept09_livineasy2

Daybreaker – a floribunda known for its disease resistance – has bloomed well this year.

sept09_pataustin

Here’s Pat Austin.  Pat’s blooms have a tendency to flop, like this, but it has such a lovely color.

sept09_falstaff

This (above) is Falstaff.  Bad photo but considering I had to reach the camera up over my head to take the photo…Falstaff is very tall.  It also doesn’t bloom ALL that much, but when it does, the blooms have thousands of petals (maybe) and a rich, bright magenta color, slight fragrance.

sept09_chinadoll

Here is China Doll…a real honey of a rose.  It is small, blooms freely throughout the season (though not always like this) and is comparatively disease resistant.  It has lived in this pot for 5 years and suffers the part shade conditions of my patio.  We call it “Impulse Purchase” because I almost didn’t buy it…but then I grabbed it at the last minute.  I was conflicted because it was a whole $5 at an end-of-season clearance sale.

sept09_chinadoll_closeup

Here’s a closeup of China Doll.  Being in a pot, it needs a little extra attention with fertilizer.

I do have quite a few red roses in my garden but my camera is not good at reds, which I have heard is a common problem in photographing red roses.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

