Plants on the Brain

caladium_called_galaxy

A Caladium called Galaxy

Scott and I had a wonderful afternoon yesterday at the Missouri Botanical Garden and now all I can do is think about plants, dream about plants, look up plants on the internet, etc.

The weather has been amazing this weekend, so it was a great day to visit the Garden.  A lot of other people thought so too!  I love touring the rose gardens of course, mostly to see “in person” roses that I’ve heard about.   But I also love the shady garden paths and sculptures throughout the gardens.  This time we walked through the large Japanese garden area, and that was just beautiful.  The part that is the most mind-blowing for me, though, is the Kemper Center for Home Gardening. There the scale is brought down to size.  There is an amazing vegetable garden, a culinary herb garden, a medicinal herb garden, a fragrance garden, a bird garden, a city garden, a secret garden, a perennial garden, mailbox gardens (!) and all kinds of plant trials and such.

strike_it_rich

Strike it Rich

beautiful color combination

beautiful color combination

roses

roses

Other roses that I really liked were Garden Party (subtle shades of cream, light yellow and light pink)  and About Face (color like Pat Austin, bloom form like Distant Drums) and a bloomiferous loose-bloomed cultivar from the 70’s called Freckles.

It is thanks to a previous visit to the rose gardens there that I have 2 Distant Drums in my rose garden.  No photo I had seen had done justice to this graceful, but unusual rose.  They have a long bed full of them there, and it is a rose that benefits from a mass planting because the blooms vary in color.

Did you forget what Distant Drums looks like?  Here’s some beautiful blooms from this evening:

Distant Drums

Distant Drums

Distant Drums

Distant Drums

august27_distant_drums

This is a good GARDEN rose.  It is disappointing as a cut rose.  It has a lovely, unusual fragrance.  I have planted both of mine right by the steps to my back patio so that when it puts out  pretty blooms like these, I can admire their subtle coloration up close and have a sniff of the fragrance.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Plants on the Brain

  1. sethile says:

    Amazing gardens and a wonderful day! I’m looking forward to watching the inspiration spring to life in our own gardens.

Leave a Reply

