Our Baby’s a College Boy

D19’s college classes started today.  He came home happy and seemed to think he would like the three classes he had today:  Art History, English and Jazz Appreciation.  Tomorrow he’s got Algebra and some kind of required “how to study” class that all Freshmen take.  He popped by Scott’s office after the first class and then later they went out to lunch.

Scott really enjoyed that having the older boys were in college where he works – he would see them around the campus  and get to take them out to lunch pretty often.

When he came home around 2 we went back over to campus to buy some more books he needed for the English class and then he and a group of buddies went over to the campus health and wellness center to work out.

In other news, I was tickled to be informed that one of my website designs was chosen to appear on the Rockettheme showcase page.  Rockettheme is a professional grade Joomla template club and that’s what I’ve been using for the core of my clients’ web designs lately, although I tend to do a lot of modifications to “make it our own”.   That’s because I started out years ago designing websites from scratch.  Templates make tons of sense when you’re building a CMS based website, but I can’t feel good about the work unless/until I’ve modified it!

The roses are having their best August yet, thanks to milder than normal temps, more rainfall, and the fact that I have FINALLY gotten wise to feeding them enough.  I thought I was feeding them enough in previous years but this summer I’ve been giving them more.   I’ve put alfalfa around the base of each rose and given them a good shot of Miracle Gro through a hose-end feeder every ten to fourteen days. I have another hose-end feeder that I have Bayer Advanced Disease control for roses in.   I go around and spray all the roses with that every couple of weeks or more often if I see signs of disease.  It does a great job here in our humid climate.   See — I’m getting my systems and equipment down.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Baby’s a College Boy

  1. darlene says:

    It had to happen eventually. Have fun in your new phase of life!

  2. kara says:

    Congrats on having your design chosen! It’s really beautiful, nice and clean. Your designs are never cluttered.

    We had a meeting with our charter school EF today, picking Henry’s classes for his first year of high school :)

Leave a Reply

