Beautiful day outside, with children

Gosh, it was a gorgeous day today.  I spent it mostly outdoors, thanks to the companionship of two friends and their children.  Young children are great for getting one outside!

In the morning Wild Cow and I went to the park with her two children and in the afternoon I sat out in the backyard of Bluebonnetgirl (who lives around the corner from me) while her little boy napped on her lap and her little girl played.

It was probably one of the prettiest days we’ll see this year, and even though Bluebonnetgirl and I sat out through the late afternoon and into the evening (sorry!  I really didn’t realize how late it was getting!) there were no bugs at all.

In between  those pleasant outdoor times, I visited my neighbor at the convalescent center which is also a long-term care nursing home.  It appears to be well-staffed but it’s kind of grim; I hope she can come home soon.

When I first met her 13 years ago, I asked her if she had children.  “No, thank God,” she said.  “I left all that sort of thing to my brother.”  But now in her early 70’s she’s in poor health and alone: her husband died a few years ago; her brother died last year.  She has a sister-in-law in Chicago.  That’s it.

I am partly sad and partly relieved to hear that she is planning to move to an assisted living place once she gets out of the convalescent center.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

