Thai Green Curry

It’s Graduate’s Choice tonight so I’m revisiting this recipe in case I need to make it tonight. It’s one of his favorites.

Green Thai Curry

1 can coconut milk, divided
1 t green Thai curry paste (to taste–a heaping teaspoon in this recipe was plenty for me, I’m wimpy)
1 onion thinly sliced (flexible)
handful sliced green or red peppers if you have them
2 cups veggies, steamed (flexible)
1 minced green onion (flexible)
bamboo shoots if you have them
1 pound-or so-chicken breasts, chopped into 1 inch pieces
oil to saute chicken in
1 or 2 t sugar
1 t fish sauce — slop in according to taste
fresh lime juice–squeeze in a nice juicy half-lime or to taste
handful chopped cilantro
sliced fresh basil leaves–some for sauce, some for garnish
serve over rice with additional lime, cilantro, and basil as desired

Instructions
1. In largish pot, bring 1/4 can of the coconut milk and the curry paste to simmer. Stir in the rest of the can of coconut milk, sugar, and fish sauce. Bring to a simmer; let cook 1 minute.

2. Meanwhile you’ve steamed the veggies.

3. Meanwhile you’ve also sauteed the chicken and onion slices in oil–make sure chicken is cooked through.

4. Add chicken and veggies to coconut milk mixture. Add bamboo shoots if you have them. Add chopped cilantro, lime and basil. Mix well, make sure everything’s nice and hot.

Serve over rice.

This was more than plenty for three.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thai Green Curry

  1. justinpatton says:

    Just send the leftovers to work with Scotch.

  2. darlene says:

    Thanks, Kathy! I tried it, and it was delicious!

  3. TulipGirl says:

    Yum! This is on our menu this week . . . Hubby told me he didn’t want to try to make it without me, and I almost had him google the recipe on your site to show him how. Since you introduced me to this recipe, we keep coconut milk, curry paste, and fish sauce on hand. *grin*

Leave a Reply

