Two more post-season games, at least!

Last night’s district tournament game, played to a packed and over-flowing house on a perfect night, could have been the last high school ballgame ever for D18, who is probably not going to be playing college ball.  But the team won!  That means we have another game tonight, and then at least one more game next week in the regional tournament.

I didn’t see that coming at all! D18 kept telling me, “we can beat them, Mom” but I didn’t believe him.

And so tonight I was just savoring everything–the last time I would be work the concession stand (for the game before D18’s game).  The last time I’d sit on a bleacher on a gorgeous late spring evening and be so invested in a baseball game.  The last time I would sit in the stands with the baseball parents, cheering each other’s boys on.  Like D18 I felt like an outsider the first year he played on the team, but I have come to love and appreciate the parents so much.  You could not find a more supportive, classy group of parents than these.  It took me a little too long to open up and let the other parents know I enjoyed their companionship at the games–and I think I’ve learned a good lesson about that.

The score was 10-3.  Roman pitched a GREAT game.   The other team had no hits at all until late in the game.  D18 had 4 RBIs and also made the final double play to stop the other team who were starting to chip away at our lead.  Another  sweet moment came when the other team intentionally walked the guy ahead of D18 in the batting order.  Guess they hadn’t checked D18’s batting average lately.  He hit a beautiful line drive up the middle and scored two RBIs.

They have another game tonight against the #1 team in the district but regardless of the outcome, by winning last night they have a spot at the regionals.  Two more times to enjoy the good moments as they come.

Maybe later I’ll have a newspaper link and more photos.

Update:  Local newspaper article about the game

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two more post-season games, at least!

  1. darlene says:

    Oh, those poigniant “last times”! I remember them so keenly with Ben, my last boy. I STILL miss those games, recitals, tournaments, and concerts. Sigh…
    Being a parent can be bitter-sweet. Enjoy those games!

Leave a Reply

