I’m agnostic…on evolution

biologosAs a Christian, I believe God created.  In fact even when I go through periods when my faith is at a low ebb, that remains a fixed point.  But I am agnostic on HOW He created: considering Who we’re talking about, I assume he could do it in 7 days and give it all appearance of being ancient, or he could use the process of evolution, or he could guide the process closely over long ages.  I see no point in restricting the viewpoints Christians may hold as to HOW our Creator created, how long it took, what mechanisms he may have employed, etc.

Some people believe that a faithful reading of the creation accounts in the biblical book of Genesis require us to accept one working theory and reject all others.  In-house this view is called “young earth creationism” and it is what is most often in the cross-hairs when people put down Christians’ beliefs.  I — and many other Christians across the spectrum from conservative to liberal — see several other explanations that are not at odds with Christianity, and don’t agree that Genesis must be read that particular way.

I’m grateful to my middle son for introducing me to the work of Dr. Francis Collins, who heads the Human Genome Project and recently has written and spoken on science and faith as a Christian who believes God created through means of evolution.  Dr. Collins has founded an organization, BioLogos, through which to participate in the “culture war” discussions about science and faith.  They have unveiled a lovely new website and I appreciate what they’re trying to do.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in churchy stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m agnostic…on evolution

  1. Michelle says:

    Kathy, thanks so much for sharing this resource. I am “hanging out” at a new church lately and have heard so many “anti-evolution” comments that it makes me wonder if I can be myself and be fed in this environment. But I realize my #1 issue is with my *own* hesitance to share my own thoughts and risk dissapproval! I don’t want to start a debate with these folks, only determine if the atmosphere is one open to discussion. I love the way you coined it: “agnostic on evolution”. Maybe that phrase will get me started! (I’ll give Quiet Garden all the credit, I promise…)

  2. katiekind says:

    You’re welcome, Michelle!

  3. molleth says:

    I am right here with you, katiekind, 100%.

  4. Leah says:

    I heartily agree Kathy! This post has made me reflect back to my biology major days with a pro-evolution atheist teacher challenging my class to prove that God exists. I never took the challenge (I have a keen ability to smell a set-up), but I was never impressed with the (ultimate) basis of his arguments: our universe exists, and it must have happened by chance (because of course there is no God).

  5. darlene says:

    If you like this guy, you might like my latest favorite: Marcus Borg THE HEART OF CHRISTIANITY. A wonderful book! Borg is a professor of theology and an Episcopalian minister. It’s a sensitive, compelling book that has really helped me understand a lot of things I was having trouble with and is bringing me ever closer to God.

  6. Chris says:

    As a philosophically-minded postmodern theist/agnostic (agnostic, not faithless), how God created, for me, is an irrelevant question. The best I can tell, it still requires faith as the means of appropriating either the creationist or evolutionist position. I realize that evolutionary theory is based on empirical data, but advocates of this view have not been able to satisfy me in a definitive way, as impressive as their claims and some of their arguments and evidence may be. As a Christian, should it be such a major issue, as interesting as it may be? I guess that would depend upon what presuppositions one has latched on to in forming their faith.

Leave a Reply

