Pollyanna Goes to the Movies

“Horrifying, humorous and life-affirming, it is, above all, unforgettable” — USA Today

I had heard about Slumdog Millionaire, except I had heard “humorous and life-affirming…unforgettable”.  And so when a plan was floated for a group of my friends to go see the movie together, I was completely game.  It was a very good movie but I wish I had heard the “horrifying” part in advance.  I might not have been so keen to see it or I would at least have been braced for it.   I don’t think the outcome at the end was worth the horrors the characters lived to get there.  It certainly provided very vivid imagery of India, though.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pollyanna Goes to the Movies

  1. darlene says:

    I know what you mean! I was completely unprepared. I was hiding my eyes throughout the movie and felt like I’d been beat up by the end. Did you know that the little boys in the beginning were not actors but actual kids from the slum?

  2. katiekind says:

    No, I didn’t know that but I was wondering how on earth they found such thin children to play those parts so convincingly, so I guess that makes sense.

Leave a Reply

