Chicken Fajitas for dinner

My family jokes that if something is delicious, inexpensive and easy to fix, chances are they’ll never see it on the menu  again.   This fajita dish could be all three, but bell peppers are pricey this time of year, especially in colors besides green.

The actual recipe calls for 2 green peppers and 1 red pepper and three peppers seems excessive to me.  I used the red bell pepper and the yellow bell pepper out of one of those “stoplight” three packs.  I’ll chop the green pepper up small and use it in tonight’s spaghetti.   At the store the stoplight pack was $5.99.  More than twice what three chicken breasts cost me.  You wouldn’t normally think of bell peppers as a splurge item!

In compensation for the profligate pepper purchase, I omitted the mushrooms called for in the original recipe.   I also changed the seasonings a bit.  Here’s my version:

SERVINGS: 3

INGREDIENTS:

1 yellow bell pepper, sliced
1 red bell pepper, sliced
1 onion, thinly sliced
3 chicken breasts, cooked and chopped up.
1/2 of a (.7 ounce) package dry Italian-style salad dressing mix
1/3 Lawry’s fajita seasoning packet
1/4 cup water

flour tortillas

DIRECTIONS:

–first boil the chicken breasts and then easily remove the meat from the bones.)

–wrap tortillas tightly in foil and put in oven to warm at 350

1. Cut peppers and onion into thin slices. Do not dice, leave slices long and thin.

2. Saute peppers and onion in a small amount of oil until tender. Add chicken. Continue to cook on low heat until heated through. Stir in approximated amounts of seasoning mix, add the water and blend thoroughly, allowing what sauce there is to thicken.

–have garnishes on table:  chopped fresh tomato, sliced avocado,  chopped cilantro and salsa.

3.  Serve!

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

