Bread Fever

Ever since I bought a pizza stone on our last trip to Nashville, I have been eager to put it to use making bread.

Recent guests on public radio’s The Splendid Table described the easy breadmaking process they wrote about in their book Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day and I decided to give it a whirl.  (Hint:  The Splendid Table comes on at 10 Sunday mornings where I live but also has podcasts…)

Actually their recipe is very much like the no-knead recipe my lovely and talented sister Kayray put on her website awhile back that I have referred to often since then.  This one has a twist–you mix up enough for three or four loaves, keep the dough in the fridge for up to two weeks and pull out a glob of it when you want to bake a loaf of bread.

The master recipe from the book is listed on the Splendid Table website and then I googled and found videos to show the process.   For example, this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ce3k5uRkEPI&feature=related

and this one:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFJZPm-_2-M

Here’s their actual website: http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com/

I have made two loaves so far and they were fabulous.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bread Fever

  1. sethile says:

    “I have made two loaves so far and they were fabulous.”

    Yes, they certainly were! I can’t think of anything I like better than fresh out of the oven home baked bread. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

