Would you like to see our wine list, Monsieur?

Coto de Imaz Rioja 2001 Reserva

We had a glass of this Spanish wine with dinner at the Yellow Porch in Nashville and were so impressed with it that after dinner we picked up a bottle of it at the Wine and Spirits store in Brentwood to take home with us.

We drank it tonight with a small roast leg of lamb dinner that I made (with mushroom gravy and mashed potatos and green beans) and it was remarkable, fabulous.  Every sip was transcendent.

It’s a $20 bottle of wine, which is an extravagance for us, though not very expensive as good wine goes. I’m noting it here on the blog both to remember to get another bottle next time we can, and also in case you’re like I am, in a complete fog when it comes to picking out a nice bottle of wine. This is one to to pair with roast beef, roast lamb, something like that.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Would you like to see our wine list, Monsieur?

  1. dulcimeramy says:

    My blog stats say you linked to my blog through this post. Is it a hidden message? If somebody clicks on the wine bottle label, are they transported to my blog where they can listen to a really rough recording of “Camptown Races?” heehee

  2. katiekind says:

    I could arrange for that!

  3. Amy R. says:

    LOL! Wait ’til you hear the clip. In my humble opinion it doesn’t go with transcendent wine. It goes with root beer.

  4. dulcimeramy says:

    Sorry for hijacking your comments! I just wanted to solve the mystery of the trackback :)

  5. katiekind says:

    I don’t really fully understand the stats and get some mystery ones as well.

  6. sethile says:

    This is a wonderful wine– a perfect pairing for your wonderful roast with trimmings, which more than did it justice. Father Capon would be very proud of you!

Leave a Reply

