Report on New Roses

In 2008, I added these new roses, thanks to a generous gift certificate from my father-in-law.  This time of year it does my heart good to see pictures like these!  So as an excuse for sharing the photos with you, I’ll give a little report on how these did, and whether I can recommend these varieties.


St. Patrick
granada.jpg
Granada
may17_juliacloseup
Julia Child
daybreaker.jpg
Daybreaker
distantdrums.jpg
Distant Drums
chicagopeace.jpg
Chicago Peace

YES! They did beautifully!  The only one that under-performed was Julia Child, but she’d had an awfully big buildup in my mind, based on rave reviews at the Rose Forum plus I’d seen a row of Julia Childs planted at the rose garden at the Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel that were amazing.   My Julia Child is in a pot on the back porch, and it may be that I need to liberate her into a real rose bed.

As first-year roses none of these bloomed heavily, except Daybreaker, which is a floribunda and that’s what they’re supposed to do, anyways.  Daybreaker is a very satisfying little bedding rose.

Of all those roses the one that made the biggest impression on me when I would see a bloom was the venerable Chicago Peace.  If I recall correctly it also had the most susceptibility to blackspot.  But the blooms were large, substantial, colorful, mildly fragrant, packed with petals and have an old fashioned bloom form that I love. If it begins to bloom more heavily in future years (like, say, Brigadoon) it would be incredible.

Distant Drums wins for “most intriguing colors” and has an unusual bloom shape and presentation–rather like lotus blossoms.  I put in two and I would put in more if I could.  They didn’t bloom heavily (but they were in partial shade, which is not optimal) but when they did deign to put forth a bloom or two, you stopped and looked at them. I was never able to take a photo that did justice to the loveliness of their blooms.  Here is one that is close:

distantdrumsinfall

St. Patrick pretty much does what it says on the tin–want a yellow rose, get a yellow rose.  (With green tinge on outer petals in spring.)  And I wanted a yellow rose.

St. Patrick is supposed to be related to Marilyn Monroe (obviously I’m speaking of the rose lineage, not their namesakes) and Marilyn (as you might expect) has a beautiful bloom form: high centered, slowly unfurling her petals over several days, beautiful in the subtle shading of her creamy coloration from a light apricot center through varying shades of cream to pale green outer petals.  St. Patrick is not quite so elegant in form or coloration.

Marilyn may be the most elegantly beautiful of all my roses, but she has the most wicked thorns of all my roses–no question about that.  There is always a downside to all that beauty.

The new Granada was my second Granada.  This is a happy rose.  The blooms are small but unfurl beautifully, are quite fragrant (for a hybrid tea), and come in happy circus colors that make me smile when I see them.

This year I pulled out three of my four Knockout roses.  They weren’t doing much out there at the end of the driveway, just making me sad when I would see their little spindly selves out there.  Life’s too short to tolerate roses that make you sad when you see them instead of happy.

Here’s Marilyn Monroe, by the way. My photo does not do her justice.
marilyn

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in growing roses, March Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

