Musical Goodness to Share

Earlier I mentioned the new Yo-yo Ma and Friends album, Songs of Joy and Peace. Alison Krauss and Yo-yo Ma were on the CBS Early Show this morning and performed their song from the album, the Wexford Carol, which is just beautiful. Here is a link to the video:
http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=4668529n

Yo-yo Ma, Edgar Meyer, Renee Fleming and Chris Thile, were all on Prairie Home Companion together, so there was amazing music throughout. If you have good speakers hooked to your computer and you missed it, you can catch the archived version of the show here:
http://prairiehome.publicradio.org/programs/2008/12/13/

I loved the tasty backup on “Touch the Hand of Love,” and the completely off the hook version of “Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground.”   How he sang like that while playing like that, I just don’t know. I do not know how to appreciate opera, but I’m told that Renee Fleming’s Strauss piece, “Zueignung,” rocked. Or whatever it is that sopranos do. ;-) And Yo-yo Ma as Bach’s angel in the second segment was lovely.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Musical Goodness to Share

  1. Leah says:

    Awesome! I was just whining to Justin that I missed the Prairie Home show – thanks for the links!

  2. thatmom says:

    Katie, thanks for all the great music suggestions. We love classical Christmas music and I know it is Christmas one I pull out the King’s College Choir CD’s.

    And also, thanks for the Prairie Home Companion links. We don’t always get to listen but the music is always so fun and this link is no exception. One of the things I really love about the combo of Edgar and Chris is how unpredictable it all is.

  3. katiekind says:

    I keep forgetting that I want to get some King’s College choir CDs. Choral music is one of my very favorite types of music.

Leave a Reply

