Observations for Parents

While we’re on the subject of parents learning as they go, starting from the early naivete of being a new parent and having your early fears and idealism exploited by some author’s misbegotten plan that’s more analogous to obedience-training your dog, growing prize tomatoes, or losing 10 pounds in 14 days on the peel-a-pound banana diet than analogous to how Jesus calls us to treat other human beings, especially those who are small and inexperienced in the ways of  life, I wanted to pass on a great set of observations from Michael Spencer, the Internet Monk. (He’s not really a monk. He has taught high school English for many years at a Baptist boarding school in Appalachia, is married and has two adult kids.)

Sometimes I hear things Christian parents do (hot sauce on the tongue was the last one) and I have to wonder at what point we gave ourselves permission to think like this. We aren’t training dogs here. It’s a whole different matter. This is someone made in God’s image. There are no buttons and levers.

Seven Observations For Parents

“At what point we gave ourselves permission to think like this” is a phrase that’s been ringing in my mind.   I appreciate him saying it because there is so little else to be said about the casual brutality that, for example, Michael and Debi Pearl promote in their books and magazines.  They have a breezy, folksy, even warm-hearted “take no prisoners” approach that leaves me at a loss for words.  If you think breeziness, warm-heartedness and “take no prisoners” don’t belong in the same sentence, then you grasp some of the difficulty of rationally deconstructing their advice.  It boils down to, “how in the world did you get from point A to point Q without tripping over the big flashing insanity barrier?”

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Ezzo/Babywise and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Observations for Parents

  1. Mel says:

    7. Loving your children is not the same as you being happy.

    Why is that so hard to remember?? :-)

  2. darlene says:

    Do people still do this stuff? I guess I’m living in this blissful attachment parenting bubble, ‘cuz I don’t know anyone who treats their children as you are describing. (And frankly, I don’t want to know them!) I love it that you are still trying to influence the masses about kind parenting, Kathy. That is a worthy service to mankind.

  3. katiekind says:

    Yes, they do. *sob*

  4. Amy R. says:

    Thank you, my eyes are better :) Merry Christmas! I hope you catch the Christmas spirit soon!

    (((hugs))) I’m with Darlene; glad to see you are still being a voice for little ones on the ‘net.

    Two of my children are more than half grown now. I’m so thankful for the time I spent rocking and singing and just waiting on them. It was a flash of time. A blink of an eye. I know from my journals that I was exhausted and weary. I don’t remember quite how it felt, though. I only remember the love. Jesus walks with mothers if they’ll let Him. It helps to try to love as He loved…both in instinct and decision. Not a rationalized love that only adults can decide to believe in, but a real love that a helpless baby can count on with his whole being.

    Don’t know if that made sense.

  5. sethile says:

    The Seven Observations For Parents post is amazing. Thanks very much for encouraging me to read it.

  6. katiekind says:

    Yes, it made sense, and it was beautifully written, Amy. Thanks for sharing that!
    You’re welcome, Scott. :-)

Leave a Reply

