Blossom Dearie for Mom

My mom noticed that the songwriter credit for one of the songs on the below-mentioned Yo Yo Ma album was listed as “Blossom Dearie”. And that is her real name.

She has a unique voice. I like what the note on the youtube below says: “Blossom Dearie’s voice, critic Whitney Balliett once wrote, would scarcely reach the second story of a doll house. But that has never stopped her from swinging like mad.”

Here you go, Mom! She’s singing and playing piano.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-WQBxL53HE0

She’s winning me over.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blossom Dearie for Mom

  1. passiven says:

    Thanks for sharing this.

    I have like blossom dearie for a long time , but recently i was on youtube and typed in “figure eight” for something or other . Well, up popped a schoolhouse rock song that i hadn’t heard in over 35 years. I was immediatley transported to being an 8 yr. old kid again.
    Aside from being a great jazz pianist, who knew she was a part of my childhood.

    beeb from chicago.

Leave a Reply

