We Gather Together…

wegathertogetherI love seasonal hymns!  This one, which we sang in church this morning,  was introduced to me in 3rd or 4th grade elementary school music time–that time of the week when the music teacher would wheel in her piano and teach the class some songs and some musical concepts.  Do they still do that in grade school?  It was certainly one of my favorite times of the week.

I very well remember how much I loved the sturdy meter and flowing melody of this one, and the way the rhymes fit.

We gather together
to ask the Lord’s blessing;
he chastens and hastens
his will to make known.
The wicked oppressing
now cease from distressing.
Sing praises to his name,
he forgets not his own.

Beside us to guide us,
our God with us joining,
ordaining, maintaining
his kingdom divine;
so from the beginning
the fight we were winning;
thou, Lord, wast at our side,
all glory be thine!

We all do extol thee,
thou leader triumphant,
and pray that thou still
our defender wilt be.
Let thy congregation
escape tribulation;
thy name be ever praised!
O Lord, make us free!

The sermon this morning was generally about being thankful and expressing thanks to God for whatever it is that He’s given you, [normal] but he also made a point of saying heartily, “And God’s response to your thanks is, “You’re welcome!….You’re welcome, now share it.”  I thought that was sweet.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in churchy stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We Gather Together…

  1. TulipGirl says:

    I don’t think I’ve sung this one with the boys much, but I know the tune very well. (Often the hymns we haven’t sung because I’m very poor at reading music and I don’t know the tune well.)

    Thank you for sharing it. . . I’ll be humming it this week. *grin8

Leave a Reply

