Out of the frying pan, into the fire…

Moving straight from politics to religion…how unwise is that?

Last Sunday another woman and I were officially “received” as members of the Episcopal Church, a mother and her three children were baptized, and two other people were “confirmed”.

reception

This was rather momentous for me as I am slow to commit to things. I like to survey the landscape and be sure. Scott, on the other hand, jumps in with both feet, always. He was “received” a year ago, but I wasn’t ready or sure at that time. But now I am.

It’s akin to church membership–although Father Kevin mentioned to me once that I was already a member of Grace Church–by which I gather he meant that membership at the local level is a matter of taking stock of the obvious.

But congregational voting and certain ministries are reserved for adult members who have expressed a mature affirmation of faith in being confirmed (what they call it if you grew up in the church) or received (what they call it if you came from another church).

I confess it helped me decide to be “received” that I didn’t have to pledge or commit anything vis a vis the Episcopal church, but rather to affirm my “renunciation of evil” and my commitment to Jesus.  Then I was prayed for by the congregation and prayed over by the bishop:

“We recognize you as a member of the one holy catholic and apostolic Church, and we receive you into the fellowship of this Communion. God, the Father, Son and Holy Spirit, bless, preserve and keep you. Amen.”

My favorite words of the day were those spoken over each newly baptized person.  After each baptism, the bishop traced a little cross on their forehead with oil on his finger saying,

“you are sealed by the Holy Spirit in Baptism and marked as Christ’s own forever.”

That phrase, “marked as Christ’s own forever.” Beautiful, isn’t it?

And it is something worth remembering.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in churchy stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Out of the frying pan, into the fire…

  1. Shanna says:

    Congratulations!!

    We were recieved into the LCMS after leaving the WELS in July…..our move to a church was hastened by the needs to provided a church home for our children. Without children, I doubt we would have committed so soon.

    While my move from the WELS to the LCMS was not as large as your shift….it carries the same emotions as one shifts in theological & doctrinal thought/practice.

    Praying you grow in the love & peace of Christ and waiting for the day the church will be reunited as one visible body.

  2. katiekind says:

    Thank you, Shanna! Amen. That will be a great day. Not a Sunday goes by that I don’t miss worshiping God in the company of my friends in my former church.

    So thank you for the reminder that someday we won’t all be going off to our different rooms, we’ll all be gathered together!

  3. Anonymous says:

    ((((big hugs to you)))) I wanted to tell you I’m taking down my blog and going offline. Eyesight problems. God bless you and keep you and yours! I hope to run in to you online again someday, if my vision improves. Thank you for adding your kind and gentle voice to the internet community. Love, Amy

  4. Kristin says:

    How exciting! I always get the shivers during the “marking you as Christ’s own forever” part of the baptism service. Congratulations, and welcome to the Anglican communion (warts and all *wink*)

  5. molleth says:

    How interesting! Especially because I was considering visiting a (the only) Episcopal church this Sunday (for the first time).

  6. katiekind says:

    Molleth, if you go, I hope you’ll enjoy. When we attended for the first time, I’d read up on liturgical worship, so I had some understanding of why people who like that sort of thing, like it. And I was pretty sure I would turn out to be one of those kind of people who like that sort of thing.

    What I wasn’t counting on that day was that my husband, who had not been reading up on it, would “get it” so thoroughly and find in it such support for a very weary and thirsty soul.

  7. darlene says:

    Congradulations, Kathy! I hope you will continue to share your spiritual journey with us here on your blog. Very inspiring!

  8. TulipGirl says:

    *hug* Hubby and I were examined by the elders of our church today for membership — and the boys were for communion, as well. So I’m sharing in your joy as well as experiencing similar for us.

  9. thatmom says:

    Katie, thank you for sharing this! {{{}}}

  10. molleth says:

    Katie…
    I went…and I just loved it! I’ve been doing a lot of reading online about the EC since, and…am very very pleased with what I’m finding! WOW. Talk about unexpected…I think I’d given up thinking I could find something that felt like “home.” Not that I’m making any decisions quickly–shoot, I’ve only been once, but I’m definitely going back!

  11. katiekind says:

    I’m happy to hear you enjoyed it. Unexpected is a good term for my first reactions, too. My entire exposure to that denomination previously was reading press accounts over the years about turmoil and controversy and a general sense that they were so far to the left that they had dropped off the Christian map altogether.

    That’s not what I found when I attended. They are very faithful and genuine, also warm and enthusiastic. But different, definitely there’s a difference in how they approach things.

    Gotta run.

  12. Anonymous says:

    I wish I got to wear a hat like that.

Leave a Reply

