Home from New York

We drove home from the airport Saturday night scheming on how to get mass transit established in our town.  Where we stayed there was a subway station right around the corner, and with expert guidance from our hosts we were able to go wherever we wanted for a pittance.  My mother preferred riding the bus (so she could see the sights), and exotic phrases like, “you just take the Crosstown Bus…” flowed as if she were a native.  But I like the subway in all its subterranean speediness.  Incidentally at one point we did get to Take the A Train, and that made the jazzman in Scott very happy.

Photo from Charleston City Paper

Photo from Charleston City Paper

The Carnegie Hall concert was wonderful; that almost goes without saying.  The photo at left is from a different day, different city.  I have few words to describe the music.  It was quiet, intriguing, challenging, humorous, and left you in complete awe and amazement.  They have a new album out and played from the album, along with two Bach pieces which they performed beautifully.

We are so grateful to my mom for help with the airline tickets, to the folks who comped us box seats, to the family who let us stay in a vacant apartment in their Brownstone down the street from Central Park, and to all the relatives who shared in the occasion with us!  It was so much fun.

We also had a plethora of fun gatherings to enjoy, from the pre-show dinner with my mother, my brother and his wife at BellaLuna and the post-show wind-down party where I met Joshua Bell (and my mother regretted her decision to skip the party after hearing that!), a special dinner foursome the next night at Gramercy Tavern (wow), and brunch Friday at Georgia’s cafe with my brother and his wife before they flew to France, and for a grand finale, dinner for all our family provided in the gracious home of our host family.  Music, laughter, conversation and funny family stories flowed.

While Scott had other familial responsibilities, Mom and I managed to get to a couple of museums–we spent an hour or two in both the Museum of Natural History (walking distance from our host’s home!) and the MOMA.


Meanwhile, D18 held down the fort here.  Our dog was healing from an infection which had made us extra anxious about leaving, but D18 took good care of her and she seems to be doing much better now.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

