Even I am thinking about the election

I feel on edge today and I don’t think it is just the re-entry into normal life after travelling.

Here comes the election.  I hope people will not burn too many bridges with friends and neighbors on the other side of the fence, nor burn bridges of civil and responsible discourse in general as they express their opinions amid doubts, fears and hopes.

I mentioned earlier I’ve been sticking to primary sources as much as I can to inform my views this time around, and have made a point of listening to both candidates over a period of time.  The upshot is that for a couple of presidential candidates, I think they are both not bad, and I am not afraid of either of them.  I am voting for one of them.

Whoever gets the job is going to have a hard job ahead and will likely be very unpopular as it appears we have a tough time ahead of us.

See how easy it is to say “us”?  I wish we could remember that “us” more often.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Even I am thinking about the election

  1. Mama Grizzly says:

    You’re so wise! I love reading your blog posts! You’re so right about the election – so much “divides” us because we have to “pick a side”. But, if you get right down to it, we all pretty much care about the same things. I hope that whoever wins can bring “US” together to solve the major issues that we have before “US”.

  2. I have begun to think that there is not much “center” left anymore. No candidate can really “go to the center” because the extremes keep expanding to eat it up. I predict the right will eventually die off all together, as the youth are NOT leaning that direction at all. So what happens when there is only one party and one candidate with any real chance at winning the presidency?

    Maybe I’m premature in predicting the demise of the Republicans. But it’s hard to imagine after this, the election of the most popular global leader the world has ever known.

  3. katiekind says:

    Interesting thoughts, Justin. Here is a case where Deep, Artsy, Tortured Christian Angst meets Pollyanna Christian Ostrich. ;-)

    I’m cautiously optimistic, though I don’t think Obama will be as good as supporters hope and dream, nor as bad as detractors worry.

    I also think might be good to let the other team take the field for awhile, for all kinds of reasons.

    Mid term elections usually provide an opportunity for balance, and two years passes very quickly.

    But the truth is, I like Obama, think his ability to lead and to communicate may be gifts we need at this time, and I wish him Godspeed. He’s going to need it.

  4. I agree with almost everything you’ve said. Still, I stubbornly stick to my assessment that Obama, while he may or may not govern from the center, does not have a particularly strong history of bi-partisanship. But that’s history. Who knows what the future will bring? I, too, am cautiously optimistic. Obama has a chance to do great things with the immense national and global goodwill he has received.

    My remarks about America’s eroding political center come mainly from my experience watching people argue. Almost no one tries to find common ground. Even relatively moderate statements are quickly deemed as “ridiculous, absurd, inane” – in an attempt to discredit, at all costs, anything other than a hard party line. Put simply, precious few act like anyone with half a brain could possibly think differently than themselves. And that is on both sides, big time. I kinda hope the Libertarians and the Green party take over…

  5. katiekind says:

    eroding political center come mainly from my experience watching people argue

    A little more center would definitely be a good thing. I am so out of my depth when talking politics, but I wonder if the center is vacant because on a pragmatic level, it just doesn’t amp up the voters?

Leave a Reply

