30th Anniversary

Another reason that I love fall is that it is chock full of meaningful and fun occasions. My 50th birthday was last week and our wedding anniversary falls the week after (30 years ago the reason we set the wedding date a week after my birthday was because I wanted to avoid being a teenaged bride.)

There we are in all our youth, cutting the cake in front of friends and family gathered on the front courtyard at Scott’s grandmother’s home.  It’s been a good run, and it seems our strategy of holding off on marriage until I turned 20 paid off.  ;-)  

We had a lovely anniversary day, took a long drive in Southern Illinois by way of Marion and the ferry and visited Garden of the Gods again. It turned out we were not the only ones who had thought it would be a good place to visit in mid-October on a Saturday afternoon. The walking area that is most accessible really is not large enough to accommodate the numbers of visitors that were out yesterday, so in future it’ll be best to visit mid-week in the fall. But the drive more than made up for that disappointment. Then we headed to Paducah for dinner, crossing the blue bridge from Brookport, which was fun in and of itself. We walked along the riverfront and visited the big 3-story antique shop on the corner, and then settled in for dinner at diFratelli’s.

Whenever there was a lull in the action, as when we were waiting for the ferry, I read out loud to Scott from Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, which is the wonderful book I’m currently reading, passed on by our middle son.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 30th Anniversary

  1. TulipGirl says:

    30 years! Rejoicing with you!

  2. kara says:

    Happy anniversary you two :) What a happy day that is to remember. Let me know how you like Jonathan Strange as you progress. I loved it until I got totally bored by it. :)

  3. sethile says:

    How is it that you still look the same 30 years later? Saturday’s drive and activities made for a great celebration!

    Do not let the impatient poison your mind when it comes to Jonathan Strange. It just keeps getting better and better! Fastest paced book I’ve read in a while. Of course, it may help reading it after a string of Russian classics. ;)

  4. darlene says:

    Congradulations on 30 years! I love how you read to Scott. That is such a sweet togetherness kind of thing. Steve loves it when I read to him. Pardon the pun, but it’s such an effective way of “getting on the same page” with another person.
    I was so happy when I turned 50. It seemed like a real accomplishment to me, somehow. And I felt so good at the time that I remember saying, “If this is how 50 feels, I’m really looking forward to this decade!” I’m 59, and in some ways it’s been my best! The only way it could have been better is if it had been filled with grandchildren. Maybe that is being saved for my next decade!
    Anyway, tell Scott “Way to go!” and may multitudes of blessings rain down on you two in the years to come.
    Love you both!
    Darlene

  5. Leah says:

    Congratulations on 30 years together!

    I enjoyed Jonathan Strange, although I did tend to get impatient and want to rush the story along instead of enjoying the journey.

  6. Britt says:

    Congratulations to you & Scott! It was a beautiful day.

  7. debrabaker says:

    Congratulations! 30 years is amazing.

  8. Mel says:

    Congratulations!!! :-)

  9. thatmom says:

    What a lovely picture! Here’s to at least another 30!!!

  10. Brian says:

    How did I miss this post…. Anyway, belated congratulations and wishes for many more years to come.

  11. dulcimeramy says:

    Oh, congratulations! :) :) :)

Leave a Reply

