Crawling out from under my rock

I try to keep unpleasantness like politics out of my life, but occasionally curiosity gets the better of me.  What I’ve found helpful in satisfying my curiosity about the current situation is cspan.org which I can recommend if you want to bypass some layers of spin.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crawling out from under my rock

  1. darlene says:

    Thanks, Kathy. I got a lot out of that!

  2. katiekind says:

    Yesterday I watched/listened to a fascinating seminar on the “situation” sponsored by The Brookings Institute. Another day I watched a session of congress where members of the House of Representatives one by one explained their misgivings about the bill to the head of the Whatever Committee (Barney Frank). Another day I watched/listened to something else–brain cloudy, can’t remember!

    In each case, though, instead of being drawn into generalized fear and a polarized, blame-shifting view of things, I felt like I gained a greater, multi-faceted understanding of the issues and was impressed to see people working on the problem, people articulating nuanced concerns and evaluations and being heard–people acting like grownups. Instead of feeling frightened and slimed, I felt reassured and also, in a strange way, empowered.

  3. darlene says:

    I agree. I was just talking to Steve after watching several such sessions that it was so great to actually hear intelligent people, the ones who are actually making the decisions, explain why they are doing things, their strategies, how they came to think what they think, etc. It was such a relief, because they actually sounded like they knew what they were doing and that I could trust them! To actually hear the Senate sessions myself, instead of relying on the news to tell me about them, was indeed empowering. I get so tired of news and talk-show people telling me what to think. It’s such a watered-down, fear-based way of getting information.

Leave a Reply

