Ike made his presence felt here.

We have some very large tree limbs down in our back yard, and our power was out all day.  I know this is nothing compared to what many families are dealing with, but that was quite a wind this morning.  We stayed home from church because it didn’t seem wise to leave home with the wind still roaring like that.  I can’t even imagine doubling the wind speed–that’s what they had down in Texas I guess.  Yikes.

The tree that had two of its three main limbs sheared off will probably just need to be removed altogether.  That’ll be ok, it was a nuisance of a tree with lots of above-ground roots making it hard to mow.  Once removed there’ll be another good swathe of full sun, and after those roots decay, I will have room for some more interesting plants and a vegetable plot.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ike made his presence felt here.

  1. sethile says:

    Ah, I found the actual quote I was looking for…. Even better than I’d remembered it!

    “Pooh,” said Owl severely, “did you do that?”
    “No,” said Pooh humbly. “I don’t think so.”
    “Then who did?”
    “I think it was the wind,” said Piglet. “I think your
    house has blown down.”
    “Oh, is that it? I thought it was Pooh.”
    “No,” said Pooh.
    “If it was the wind,” said Owl, considering the matter,
    “then it wasn’t Pooh’s fault. No blame can be attached to him.”
    With these kind words he flew up to look at his new ceiling.

  2. darlene says:

    Lemonade out of lemons.

  3. katiekind says:

    If you only knew, Darlene! There’s some front yard trees I wish the wind would take out as well! Our yard has many, many tall trees, which is lovely for shade but not so lovely for finding places to grow roses and vegetables.

Leave a Reply

