Playing Games

I guess there are two kinds of people, those who enjoy playing games and those who don’t.  I’m not a game player, and the prospect of going to a “game night” at someone’s house, though I may love them dearly, fills me with anxiety.  And this is in spite of the fact that I have enjoyed playing games at one time or another–enough so you’d think I might identify myself differently.

Yesterday afternoon we had a really fun time learning to play Farkle from our middle son who was over.  It was fun, fast-moving, and a great way to carve out some mutual space and enjoy the time we spent together.  A rather perfect Sunday afternoon occupation.  I’ll be ready for another game sometime soon.

When I was growing up, we had Candyland and Sorry–I think those were my first two board games.  I remember adults being kind enough to sit and play Sorry with Ken and me.  And I remember Dad bringing home a Monopoly game–and we could not finish the game before bedtime.  He had no idea what we were in for with that, I expect.   We had to set the board aside, hope our dog did not crash into it, and come back to it the next night.  Monopoly did not catch on with us, and probably we were too young.

And then there were the summertime Monopoly games conducted by our stepdad.  This was on lazy weekend afternoons when we were in our preteens or early teens, the weather so hot there was nothing else, really, to do.  The board was laid out on the living room floor, and John would absolutely play for blood.  He stepped up the level of play from the desultory, boring game we remembered to a cutthroat, heart-pounding game where every turn was an opportunity to build an empire or go down in the ignominy of bankruptcy at the hands of your fellow hotel tycoons.

John also loved to play bridge, and many nights after the dishes were done, the deck of cards would come out.  Mom went along with graciously with it (they were essentially newlyweds at that time) and Ken and I were bodies in the chair, necessary to make up the foursome.  We tried to learn the game but we knew we were not functioning at adult levels and thus could never quite do credit to our partner.  We breathed sighs of relief when we were the dummy.

Yesterday’s game of Farkle was just right, and we’ll have to get some dice so we can have it in reserve for the next time the moment is right for a game.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Playing Games

  1. Amy says:

    I can’t stand Monopoly. It takes forever to play and it’s soooo boring! Every once and a while I’ll bite the bullet and play with my son (the only one in our house who likes it), but otherwise, I avoid it at all costs. Farkle sounds interesting, though.

  2. darlene says:

    My brother played for blood, even in pure games of chance. So I learned to not like games. Too intense. Then my sons played very competitively with each other and often fought. I got a bad taste in my mouth for games. (Unless they were cooperative games) I didn’t like having winners and losers. My kids finally learned to be good sports when they played… SPORTS. After that, they mellowed out about winning and losing. Swim team was a tremendous help with that.

  3. Leah says:

    I’ve always loved playing games, but have had to cut back since the kids came along. At our family reunions, the game of choice is Mexican dominoes. Hopefully when the kids are older I’ll be able to teach them some of the fun games out there.

  4. katiekind says:

    D came home from the McKenzies’ house one time after having played Mexican train dominoes (same game?) and said it was the funnest thing ever. So I bought a set so we could try it out, but he couldn’t remember the rules very clearly. Perhaps you’ll teach us sometime!

  5. bluebonnetgirl says:

    I love playing Farkle. My grandfather’s wife taught me to play when I was a kid.

  6. kara says:

    Ha! I remember Candyland, Sorry, Careers, Life. I don’t know how the grownups were able to put up with playing those tedious games with us. Roll the dice, move your guy. Clue and Parcheesi were a little better, I guess. At least they had some slight element of strategy. I hate Monopoly.

    Nowadays, thanks to the explosion of fine board games from Europe, we have MUCH more interesting games to play — Settlers of Catan, Streetcar, Carcassonne, Agricola. I started Henry on Streetcar when he was little, since it has relatively simple gameplay for a Eurogame, and then began training him to play Settlers when he was a bit bigger.

    I love Scrabble but no one will play with me :) I also really enjoy Rummy. Hmm, I should teach that one to Henry. Oh, and Double Solitaire, of course!

  7. thatmom says:

    We are game people but not all the time. We love to play at Christmas when most of the grown children are home. We really like Balderdash and Pictionary. We used to like Trivial Pursuit but had a friend who memorized all the cards…he needed to get a life….and that sort of ruined it for us.

Leave a Reply

