Gorgeous weather & Good times

After a couple of sweltering hot days, we’re back to gorgeous here in the upper South.  A client of Scott had baked him some delicious cookies, so we sat out on the back porch when he came home from work and had berry tea and cookies.

D18 and his friend Jordan headed off for another mini-adventure, this time they are going to a Christian music festival that is a couple hours from here.  It is being held at a United Methodist camp.  I guess they are going to camp.  As I say, it should be an adventure!  They were adorable as they set off all full of excitement and talking about who was playing when.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gorgeous weather & Good times

  1. TulipGirl says:

    Music festivals. . . I wonder if that has become a rite of passage in some ways? I remember going off with my little sister and best friend.

    Speaking of tea and cookies with your sweet husband on the porch, I think you’d like this article on marriage and wine. While sometimes it is good, sometimes it makes me sad that we often end our days sitting next to one another, parallel at the computer. . . rather than out on the porch over a glass of wine or pot of coffee.

  2. TulipGirl says:

    (I’m glad when it is needful that we can work side-by-side, but I find that I’m missing the across the table time. . .)

  3. katiekind says:

    If you find yourself emailing him from the other side of the living room, it’s time to reevaluate!!!

  4. katiekind says:

    PS–That was a lovely article. Just this morning Scott was mentioning that a bottle of wine at the table at dinner time really does change things. It helps us to delight in the good things of life and to shed our agendas–both of us have hobby/work agendas that tug at us all the time. But it’s amazing how a bottle of wine on the table encourages one to set aside the linear, goal oriented nature and focus on conversation instead. I’m not talking about drunkenness. I’m just talking about allowing God’s gift in wine to shake the stranglehold of linear goal-orientedness.

  5. TulipGirl says:

    On another note. . . just clicked on the daily lectionary reading. . . that was the pericope for today’s sermon. Psalm 89. I think I need to go reread it.

  6. katiekind says:

    :-) cool! A sermon on a psalm….I don’t know if I’ve ever heard such a thing!

  7. TulipGirl says:

    [audio src="http://www.followersmedia.com/gohope/20080810_Psa08901_rrg.mp3" /]

  8. katiekind says:

    Is that your pastor? Man! He preached a heck of a sermon! That was wonderful. Very helpful and nourishing. That’s a wonderful example of how to preach Christ even when you’re working from a psalm.

Leave a Reply

