Hold On to Your Kids

I wanted to share this wonderful podcast episode with you all.  Dr. Neufeld (father of 5, grandfather of 3) discusses the importance of parents in the lives of their older kids. The subtitle of his book is “why parents need to matter more than peers”.   Because the interview was recorded at a La Leche League conference–where the age group most parents are dealing with would be babies and toddlers–the interviewer asks him to address the role of attachment in the early years.  He explains how foundational parent/child attachment is, and how it functions to create a context for the guidance children need.

LLL_podcast_027-GordonNeufeld.mp3

Loved his parting words:  “I’d like to encourage [parents] to take their rightful place in their child’s life.  And, when in doubt, always retreat to relationship…”

I first listened to this podcast a couple of years ago, and that last line, “when in doubt, always retreat to relationship” has been quite an encouragement to me.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Ezzo/Babywise, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

