Last child crosses the threshold

Well, our last child has crossed the threshold from child to adult, at least according to our culture. 18 years ago it was a sunny day in a birth center in Riverside. Our youngest was born, laid on my chest and was the cutest little newborn I had ever seen.

With my oldest my first impression was probably something like, “oh my gosh–a real baby!” I was 22 at the time. With my middlest, my first impression was of a beautiful, large, mature-looking baby–there was something wonderfully specific in his facial features and behavior. Funny how he has always been old beyond his years and known his own mind.

And with my youngest I verbalized my impression when I got my first glimpse of him: “oh my gosh, he is so cute!” And honestly, cute he remained.

He turned 18 on Sunday and we’ve celebrated in a variety of ways….a lunch out with an older brother, a family dinner, family phone calls, family gifts, a family roadtrip (plus good buddy Jason) to see a major league baseball game and visit a water park.

But I was just reflecting that maybe it is Scott and me who should party down a little bit, having reached this milestone. I think I will have a glass of wine in honor of that! I really enjoy these launching years. Teenagers in the late teen years are learning the ropes at a very fast pace. Having a ringside seat now for the third time, I still marvel the pace of maturation at this stage–it is amazing. What you see now is not what you’ll see in six months–the growth of perspective is astonishing.

Yet, while we take a moment to draw a breath and toast one another for this milestone and what it means, still from past experience we know there is much parenting ahead of us through the ups and downs of college and adult life decisions.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Last child crosses the threshold

  1. Anonymous says:

    Happy b-day to D! Hard to believe he’s 18. I wonder if young children and older children all change so rapidly. It’s very obvious with babies and little tykes, perhaps the changes become more subtle with age. (I might hold on to this theory, it encourages me that I too might be maturing!)

  2. TulipGirl says:

    *tears*

    Early this morning I was talking with my oldest (only 12) and he was looking so old, so grown. . . And so much different than just six months ago. I can’t believe we have just six short years left until he’s 18. I want to slow down. I want to go back and relive, redo those infant, toddler, preschool years. I know that older mothers told me, “The years go by so quickly. . .” and I believed them. . . but I didn’t really *understand*. And now they are gone. I feel like time is going by so much more quickly than I can handle. I don’t want to be wasting time. (And yet I am. . . too often. . .)

    Your boys give me such hope for mine. . . And getting glimpses of where they are, further down life’s path, keeps me grounded where we are now.

  3. TulipGirl says:

    (Happy birthday, youngest son! *grin*)

  4. Brian says:

    Wow! That point in life seems so far away for us. While I am looking forward to seeing the kids grow up, I guess we need to learn enjoy what we have right now. It just seems to slip by so quickly…

    Happy b-day to D! Sounds like you had a good one.

  5. kara says:

    Eighteen????? When did that happen? Happy birthday to D :)

Leave a Reply

