Roses the beetles missed

I came through the gate to the back yard this morning with an armful of tomato cages when I saw something I’ve not seen much of for awhile!  Nice clean, undefiled-by-beetle roses!  After I worked my tomato vines into their cages, I had to grab the camera to take a picture.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roses the beetles missed

  1. Lovely! I smashed a mating pair on my shrub rose yesterday, (I have only shrub types and climbers) but the beetles have been much less in force this year (USDA zone 5, central US) due to a nice cold winter which kept the ground frozen for weeks at a time.

    Every time I looked at the thermometer and saw single digits, I thought, “Well, at least Japanese Beetle grubs are DYING.”

  2. katiekind says:

    Hi Elephantschild, welcome! You sound like a true fellow gardener! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Inger says:

    I reccomend garden hens, the really small ones! Of course they also occationally takes buds, but with all that great fertilizer, the fact that your garden is free of bugs, and also that they provide you with wonderful eggs, I gladly miss out on a bud or two…! Simply because the fertilizer makes for more roses!! ;)

Leave a Reply

