Mid-summer Rose Care

Between Japanese beetles and blackspot, it is not a beautiful time in the rose garden.

When I realized that I had lost my battle with blackspot, I started alternating the fungicides I spray, and  spraying a little more frequently.  The new growth is coming in clean, and of course I hope to keep it that way.  The blackspot is especially bad in the hybrid tea bed that is underplanted with iris, and I’m thinking that next year I will need to cut back the iris foliage right after it blooms in order to allow more air circulation.

Also I watered all the roses deeply the other day and within two days I saw lots of beautiful new growth–a good reminder that roses do love water–even if they look like they are faring ok without special watering, they need lots in order to bloom and grow in the heat of the summer.

Lastly–Japanese beetles.  These lovely iridescent little beetles cluster on and devour rose blossoms leaving ugly tattered shreds in a very short amount of time.  If they can’t get their favorite–tall, fragrant rose blooms, they will settle for chewing their way into buds and eating leaves.  Once or twice a day, I go around with a bowl of sudsy water and tap the beetles out of the roses into a watery grave.  If you do this in the morning and evening hours they are less active and will not fly away.  Even in mid day you’ll get most of them this way.

The other thing I do is cut any flowers the beetles have momentarily overlooked, so we can enjoy them indoors.  It is far from a perfect solution, since the beetles then attack the buds and leaves, but at least I get a few of the flowers that way.

This is the time of year when I wonder why I don’t grow more plants and flowers that don’t have all these problems.  I put in a few bulbs of Asiatic lilies last year, for example, and my goodness–what a show they’ve put on.  I am definitely going to plant more.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Gardening, growing roses, July Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mid-summer Rose Care

  1. Mel says:

    Ever tried the “Bag a Bug” products? I hate the smell (mating Jap. beetle attractant), but I really like not having to go knock them off of every other plant in the yard! :-)

  2. katiekind says:

    So you’re finding it keeps them off your plants? I’ve been worried it would just draw more beetles in from all over the neighborhood, and that while some would find the bag, others would miss the bag and find the roses.

  3. nearlynormalized says:

    Have not had to worry about what you are talking about…I live in Vegas, heat is the only problem, no snails, lots of worms and it is Spring. Apricots, Peaches and other fruit showing themselves along with the Roses. Have fun.

Leave a Reply

