Kill your TV

A friend of mine used to have a bumper sticker that said that. We have a TV and basic cable right now, but our child is going to be 18 soon.

Over our boys’ growing up years we mostly did not have TV, but every now and then I would get the cable reinstalled for what would always seem like a good reason. We had it reinstalled during the first Gulf War so I could follow the developments, but then we got rid of it again, and I wrote this. My boys would have been about….hmmm….10, 7 and 1.

“What I have been amazed at is how little we have missed the TV. Admittedly we have still enjoyed the video feature. The kids have almost automatically gone into a deeper level of creativity! I have been trying to document the results–the paper airplanes folded and flown, the comics drawn, the magic tricks practiced and performed, the coin and stamp collections worked on. Today they used their hieroglyphics kit to create sentences. Also after cleaning the playroom, they created a rap song and dance to commemorate the event.”

My only regret is that I did not stand strong against the TV longer.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kill your TV

  1. Mama Grizzly says:

    It’s reassuring to hear you say this – we only have rabbit ears and at times we “think” about getting cable and then dismiss it. There are definitely some good things about cable – the history channel, Discovery, National Geographic. But, hopefully we’ll be able to use Netflix to bring those interesting topics into our house. But, I will admit to missing college football ….

  2. darlene says:

    Question: Do your adult sons have TV?
    Incredibly, three of our five adult sons have no TV at all. I always wondered what the result of having no TV would be on our sons when they grew up. Three of them, anyway, claim to be way too busy to watch TV, though they all went through a TV-watching period after they left home. Now they are so busy working, playing, and being creative that they would, I’m sure, consider TV watching a big waste of time. Since Ely is an animator for the Simpsons, he naturally has an interest in the TV industry. But, even he has little time to “veg” in front of his tube. He says he’d rather be swing dancing. That’s what he does after-hours for entertainment. I think homeschooled kids tend to learn how to make the most of their time and to actively pursue their interests with a passion that I believe TV-watching leaches out of kids. As an aside, I think computers can be just as insidiously time-consumming and energy-draining. I’m glad I raised my kids before the computer age came on strong. They all use computers daily now, but I’m so thankful that they were busy doing other things as children.

  3. katiekind says:

    One does, and one does not. The one who does is an avid sports fan so I think the TV is for that. But he doesn’t have much time for it. The one who does not decided it was a distraction to the pursuit of his goals and got rid of it.

Leave a Reply

