Getting Rid of Stuff

The bug has hit Scott and me at the same time–the urge to clear out clutter. Scott’s wanting to clear out his garage of the detritus of previous hobbies and devote the entire garage to the pipe-making enterprise. I’m just wanting to clear out STUFF. We’re down to one kid at home, and that one kid is going to be a high school senior next year. Why do I still have so much STUFF? My summer project is to really pare down to a scale that befits the beginning of empty nest-hood, and make room for change. That’s the feeling in the air.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Getting Rid of Stuff

  1. TulipGirl says:

    Ugh. Stuff! How does it multiply?!

    That said. . . after inheriting homeschool books and legos from my MIL, I’m more willing to hold on to things–things which in the past would be GONE in a heartbeat.

    I think we need to move. I don’t really know how to declutter without moving.

  2. katiekind says:

    Yes, our biggest problem is that it’s been 12 years since our last move.

  3. Shanna says:

    We are moving again after just 4 years in our current home. So, I am having the urge to purge.

    I am opposite to you though–we just added 2 kids to the family–bumping up our grand total to 5. Having this many people in the house is also giving me th urge to purge as well.

    I am hoping that by decluttering, I will be able to think more clearly… :)

  4. darlene says:

    My husband says we can never move. Too much stuff. He’s not willing to move it.

  5. darlene says:

    Oh, by the way, we’ve lived in this house for 26 years. That’s a lot of years for a man (who never throws stuff away cuz he might need it someday) to accumulate.

Leave a Reply

