Cry, the Beloved Country

Just finished reading this book–the one selected by my friend Barb for our reading group this month. I remember in 8th grade seeing kids from another English class with this tucked under their arms. I picked up a friend’s copy and looked at it, but I could not get into it: I was interested in France and England and Europe and Russia — and utterly uninterested in Africa. Picking it up and paging through, the author’s way of punctuating conversation was off-putting as well. Two strikes–that was too many for me at that age.

But now it was assigned in the reading group, and Barb’s a great judge of books, so I was eager to see what was so good about this book.

Well. It’s wonderful, and you all should certainly read it. Here it is on Amazon for only $5. I am still formulating my thoughts. I love how the people did not become overwhelmed by the irony of the tragic occurance at the center of the book. In fact, they consciously chose not to go in that direction–right in the midst of their tragedy.   I love how, in a book addressing a political/cultural situation that needed changing, nobody in the story was reduced to billboard simplicity. The interactions between the characters to be so believable, especially in the bereavement scenes–those were some bits of remarkable writing.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Books, Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cry, the Beloved Country

  1. TulipGirl says:

    I read this book when I was 17 or so. . . without really understanding the implications or really knowing history or the big picture. I remember reading and being greatly impacted by that, Biko, and Covenant. Though, with a lot of books I read at that time, I don’t think I really “got it” and would like to reread them.

Leave a Reply

