Time for Some Pink!

The lovely Eden Climber.

Above is Eden again, and below is The Herbalist, an Austin Rose, one that is a little less common.

Below that we have Heritage.  Very beautiful and refined bloom form, lovely honey-rose fragrance.  The blooms only last a day or two on the bush and even less when you cut them.  But it blooms a lot to make up for that, and it is more disease resistant than some Austins.

By now you probably recognize Abraham Darby (below):

And last but not least, Souvenir de la Malmaison.

When I was a little girl I never could get enough of the color pink.  So when I first started growing roses, all I thought about were bowers of pink roses.  I’ve branched out and really love my red and yellow and apricot roses, but the pink ones will always have a special charm for me.

In keeping with that, I’ve been listening to Anne of Green Gables on my ipod at night to help me relax and sleep better.  I really love the author’s descriptions of the ordinary beauty of Anne’s surroundings (remember Anne’s White Way of Delight, and the Lake of Shining Waters?)   I grew up seeing things that way too, and as an adult, I have to remember to see the world that way.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time for Some Pink!

  1. kara says:

    Oh lovely. I especially like The Herbalist.

  2. darlene says:

    Anne of Green Gables. My favorite book as a child. I saw the world like she did. She spoke my language. Reading that book was like candy to me. Yum!

  3. kristen says:

    Oh, beautiful. Your roses are so amazing.

  4. Inger says:

    Lovely roses you have… Beautiful!
    I really enjoy your blog!
    I will add it to my favourites!

Leave a Reply

