Days of Baseball and Roses – Update!

Ds17 played great last night! Made some great plays at shortstop and hit 3 out of 4 times at bat. The other time he grounded out but advanced the runner. He was having a super night. It was great to see that.

This morning I went out and took a bunch of photos of the roses. Here’s Pat Austin.

And here’s Penelope, up close:

And then we went out to DS17’s ballgame and found out he was starting with the varsity team for the first time! And we had remembered to bring our camera, also for the first time. He played shortstop and had a double, a single and 3 RBIs–one of which is depicted below.

Here he is down and ready at shortstop.

With as stressful as the end of the school year has been, this was really a timely encouragement.  We were so proud.   We have the district tournament ahead, and then summer ball.

As you can see, we are really enjoying our new camera. It was a gorgeous day for baseball. We followed it up with a trip to the big city for new shoes and then went to see a minor league game in the evening.


About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Days of Baseball and Roses – Update!

  1. TulipGirl says:

    What great photos!

    The past two years our boys have been involved with a low-key neighborhood baseball team. The first year. . . oh my. . . they were brand new to the sport and looked like awkward little monkeys on the field! The last practice of the season this year. . . wow! They were hitting and running and catching and having such a good time!

    Aren’t minor league games grand? I enjoy them so much more than major league games. (Then again, I don’t follow any teams–otherwise I may feel differently about it.) I just love how close and immediate the game is when we go to a minor league game.

Leave a comment