Roses after Rain

It has rained a lot here in the past 72 hours and the roses are looking a little soggy and beaten down. But I went out and took some pictures this morning because when the spring flush is over, there won’t be anything like it again until next spring. The roses will bloom off and on throughout the summer, but not like this. So…we take pictures! Above is the luscious hybrid tea rose, Marilyn Monroe.

I have to say that if there had been digital cameras when my kids were little, they’d have thought my face looked like a camera. I don’t have near enough photos of the kids in those precious young stages. In those days, the cost of a roll of film, followed by developing and printing that film had to be considered, so you went at picture-taking sparingly.

And now I’ve got the digital camera Scott bought on DS#2’s excellent advice, I’m ready to snap pictures at the slightest provocation, but our youngest, seventeen, grimaces when I come at him with a camera.  The roses don’t seem to object.

So here’s more from today:

That’s Abraham Darby.   He was new last year (I think) and bloomed well all season.  His blooms are a treat for their variable coloring and densely petaled old fashioned bloom forms but also for a wonderful fruity scent.  Here, you can just about smell this, can’t you?

Molineux is blooming up a storm:

New this year:  Julia Child.  A new floribunda getting rave reviews.  I saw it “in person” so to speak at the entrance to the Chattanooga Choo Choo Rose Garden, where it made a big impact planted in a group of three.  Julia on the back porch–she can oversee the summer grill operations.

Below is Tuscan Sun.  The rain has kind of flattened its normally perfect shape, but the colors are pretty:

Speaking of perfect shape, time for a hybrid tea.  This one is Valencia, one of the stars of the front hybrid tea bed.

More from Brigadoon.  She sits next to Valencia in the front bed.

The front bed again, a few days after the shot below.  Looks just a bit different. In the foreground, a new rose has its first bloom, that’s St. Patrick, a yellow rose in cooler, rather than warmer tones.  It is supposed to last well in the vase.  I’ll let you know!


About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roses after Rain

  1. vindhya says:

    Those roses r lovely. How does one get such beautiful roses? In India where i live we have hot summers and heavy rains for 3-4 months. We still have rose plants and this year I’m working on them for good flowers. Maybe u can give me some tips.

Leave a Reply

