Today in the garden

Ok, they are all my favorites, but some are more favorite than others, and this is one of my “more favorites,” with an unpronounceable name: Gruss an Aachen. I believe it is categorized as an early floribunda, bred in 1909. It tolerates some shade, which is a fortunate thing, since it certainly gets shade in my yard.

Here is the scentabulous Gertrude Jekyll. Gertrude was my first rose here at this house. She gets the credit for starting it all:

Isn’t this the kind of thing we all are thinking of when we plant a rose garden?

Here’s the front bed, dominated, currently, by the big bushy behemoth Brigadoon.

I will leave you with a serendipitous color combination. The pale purple iris and Tamora’s pale peach tones seem almost perfectly balanced to me.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

