A Wonderful Mother’s Day

I hope all you moms were properly honored and feted on Mother’s Day! I had one of the best Mother’s Days that I can remember. DS#2 brought over a half-dozen red roses from his new home, DS17 gave me a big hug, DS#1 telephoned and sent special truffles, and we had an indoor picnic with grilled burgers and the works, since it was cold and windy.

Later in the afternoon we all went for a drive in “Navi” to the Elk and Bison Prairie. DS#1 was with us by way of the music playing on the mp3 player.

We saw quite a few female elk and finally, near the end of the drive, three lazy bison seated on a grassy hillside. One by one they eventually stood up, scratched, looked around. We were, by that time, pathetically grateful for anything bison-like! We enjoyed watching them for awhile and then hit Belew’s for milk shakes on the way back home.

At home we took naps and reconvened at DS#2’s house for late evening cocktails. He is a master at mixing historical cocktails with the finest ingredients, and our palates are in the pleasant process of being educated! Last night we had the Sazerac and a real “Old Fashioned”. My favorite of those was the Old Fashioned, and I don’t think I will ever forget that wonderful zip of orange-y fragrance that surrounds that drink. DS#2 is very careful as he uses a channel knife to cut a twist of peel for each drink. He takes care to do it in such a way that the essential oils from the process spray downward into the glasses. It’s hard to express how delightful the result is. We were there for quite some time, and had a lovely, leisurely evening of sipping and conversation.

I can’t remember a nicer Mother’s Day.

About katiekind

Enjoying the second half of life. I have three sons who are the apples of my eye and a wonderful husband of 35 years--those are the important things. Long ago, out of the blue, I became a Christian. It was something I never planned on, but what joy it has been. I do website development and I like to read and garden and paint and I love beauty and truth.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

